What is the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a new and flexible way to provide long term individualised support to people with a disability.

The NDIS provides individuals with choice and control over the reasonable and necessary supports they require to live an ordinary life and achieve their goals.

It is a scheme which provides certainty that people with a disability will receive the care and support they need over their lifetime.

Am I eligible for the NDIS?

Participants need to be eligible to access the NDIS.

The criteria to be eligible include:

  • Age requirements
  • Residency requirements
  • Disability requirements or Early Intervention requirements

You can check your eligibility here.

When will the NDIS be implemented in the NT?

The NDIS will be available progressively across the Northern Territory over the next three years.

The Barkly region in the NT was an NDIS trial site for the implementation of the NDIS.

1 January 2017

  • East Arnhem

1 July 2017

  • Darwin remote region
  • Katherine region

1 July 2018

  • Darwin urban region
  • Central Australia region

Transition of supported accommodation:

1 January 2017

  • People in supported accommodation
  • Darwin Urban

1 July 2017

  • People in supported accommodation
  • Alice Springs and Katherine

NDIS categories Carpentaria supports

  • Assist Access / Maintain Employment
  • Development – Life Skills
  • Daily Personal Activities
  • High Intensity Personal Activities
  • Daily Tasks / Shared Living
  • Group/Centre Activities
  • Assist Life Stage, Transition
  • Behaviour Support
  • Early Intervention Supports for Early Childhood
  • Support Coordination
  • Therapeutic Supports
  • Assist Travel / Transport
  • Household Tasks
  • Home Modifications
  • Assist Products – Personal Care and Safety
  • Personal Mobility Equipment

What’s next?

Contact us for further details and to discuss your NDIS plan.